Skip to content

Cool projects I’ve been working on

March 15, 2014

Next week, on March 19th, we’re opening the doors to a brand-new live arts incubator and performance space called The Theatre Centre. It’s in the Toronto neighbourhood idiosyncratically called “West Queen West”, and a great crew of people have helped it along from its old home at the Great Hall, where I have worked on and off since 2009, into a beautifully renovated former Carnegie library. It has been an inspiring process, a hard slog but definitely worth the effort. That night, we’re going to be opening a new show in the main space, directed by the TC’s head honcho Franco Boni with the amazing Ravi Jain. It’s called Sea Sick and stars Alanna Mitchell, who adapted it from her book of the same name (and, I just found out last night, has a Latin degree from my alma mater, Trinity College). I’m very proud of the show, which I’ve designed, and you can see a teaser video for it here:

Later today, I’m meeting with a young director and a musician to talk about sound design for an upcoming production of August Strindberg’s play Easter. This is coming on the heels of a really successful adaptation of Strindberg I did last year called After Miss Julie by Patrick Marber, presented at the Storefront Theatre by Red One Collective, an archival video of which you can view here:

On another note, my friend Sean is trying to make a short comedy film. His buddy Jeff will star in it, and they’re both funny dudes. Sean asked me if I’d help them make a pitch video by recording the sound and composing a little bumpin’ techno music for it. I said yes, and with it they’ve set up an Indiegogo crowd-funding campaign to get the whole thing done. If you can, please donate to help make it happen, and watch the video:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

